SSDI is a federal program that provides financial assistance to people who are unable to work due to a disability. It is a critical safety net for individuals who may have otherwise lost their income and their ability to support themselves and their families. In Michigan, many individuals rely on SSDI benefits to make ends meet, and navigating the SSDI/SSI application process can be challenging. Our attorneys aim to provide clear and concise information on SSDI benefits, eligibility requirements, and the application process in Michigan, along with resources for those seeking legal assistance from an SSDI attorney.

The Differences in the two disability benefit programs.

Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI).

SSDI is a program designed for people who have worked and paid taxes into the Social Security system for years prior to becoming disabled. If an individual is judged disabled, the individual will receive SSDI benefits regardless of the individual’s assets or family income.

There are three categories of people entitled to social Security Disability benefits:

  1. Disabled workers under 65 who has been employed or self-employed long enough and recently enough under Social Security.
  2. Person who has been disabled since childhood but before age 22 if one of the parents covered by Social Security retires, becomes disabled or dies.
  3. Disabled widow or widower between the age of 50 and 60 if the deceased spouse was covered under Social Security at the time of death.

Supplemental Security Income (SSI).

SSI, unlike SSDI, is a “needs-based” program. SSI is designed to pay benefits to disabled people who need help with basic living costs, even if they haven’t worked or paid taxes into the Social Security system. To qualify for SSI payments, a claimant cannot have family assets or income over a certain limit.

Foley Law Offices is successful in more than 80% of social security cases and the best part: We don’t get paid unless you get paid. If you have questions about social security check out our FAQ page, or contact our office directly.

For a free, face-to-face, consultation with one of our Social Security Attorneys:

Call Foley Law Offices at (734)462-7500

Free Case Evaluation

Questions you may have about Disability Law in Michigan

Don’t get left in the dark, not knowing where to start or going through the application process only to be denied. Work with a local social security attorney who understands your case, works to help you understand the process and fights for your benefits.

man working with local michigan lawyer to claims social security benefits

Who is eligible for SSDI benefits in Michigan?

To be eligible for SSDI benefits in Michigan, you must have a disability that prevents you from working and have worked long enough and paid Social Security taxes to qualify for benefits. Specifically, you must have earned enough work credits through paying Social Security taxes to be considered ‘insured’ under the SSDI program. The number of work credits required varies depending on your age at the time you became disabled, but typically you need to have worked and paid into Social Security for at least 5 out of the last 10 years.

Additionally, your disability must meet the Social Security Administration’s (SSA) definition of a disability, which means it must be a physical or mental condition that is expected to last at least one year or result in death, and it must prevent you from performing a substantial gainful activity (SGA), which is currently defined as earning more than $1,310 per month. The SSA evaluates your medical condition and your ability to work when determining your eligibility for SSDI benefits.

If you are not sure whether you meet the eligibility requirements for SSDI benefits in Michigan, you may want to consult with an experienced SSDI attorney who can help you understand your options and assist with the application process.

Are SSDI benefits be taxed?

Whether or not your SSDI benefits will be subject to taxes depends on your income level. If you have income from other sources in addition to your SSDI benefits, such as wages or investment income, you may have to pay federal income taxes on a portion of your SSDI benefits.

If you are unsure whether you will owe taxes on your SSDI benefits, you may want to consult a tax professional or an SSDI attorney who can provide guidance based on your situation.

Can I apply for SSDI benefits on my own, or do I need an attorney?

You can apply for SSDI benefits on your own, without the help of an attorney. The Social Security Administration (SSA) provides an online application process and offers assistance through its toll-free telephone service, local Social Security offices, and disability determination services.

What are the benefits of hiring an SSI/SSDI Attorney to handle my application?

There are several benefits to hiring an SSI/SSDI attorney to handle your application, including:

  • Increase your chances of approval: An experienced SSI/SSDI attorney understands the complex rules and regulations involved in the application process and can help ensure that your application is completed accurately and completely.
  • Provide guidance and support: An attorney can provide guidance and support throughout the application process, answering any questions you may have and helping you understand your options.
  • Navigate the appeals process: If your claim is denied, an attorney can help you navigate the appeals process, including requesting a reconsideration, requesting a hearing before an ALJ, and filing an appeal with the Appeals Council or federal court, if necessary.
  • Understand complex legal issues: SSI/SSDI attorneys are trained to understand complex legal issues related to Social Security disability law, including income calculations, work history issues, and other factors that can affect your eligibility for benefits.

No upfront fees: SSI/SSDI attorneys typically work on a contingency fee basis, meaning they only get paid if you are awarded benefits.

What happens if my SSDI application is denied?

If your SSDI application is denied, you have the right to appeal the decision. The appeals process generally involves four levels of review

  1. Reconsideration
  2. Hearing before an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ)
  3. Appeals Council Review
  4. Federal Court Review

How can a Michigan Social Security attorney help with my case?

A Michigan SSDI attorney can help with your case in several ways:

  1. A Michigan SSDI attorney can help with your case in several ways:
  2. Understanding the SSDI application process
  3. Preparing for the hearing
  4. Representing you at the hearing
  5. Filing an appeal
  6. Maximizing your benefits